Pigs in a Blanket on Steroids

Have you ever walked in a supermarket and saw the somewhat creepy looking Pillsbury dough boy and thought hmm, maybe he will look less creepy when cooked.  Well that is what happened to me.  Saw some Pillsbury wiener wraps (don’t judge me, I did not create that name).  I wanted to use little cocktail (sorry, bad choice of words) wieners but couldn’t find them.  I Decided to go the opposite direction and go with Oktoberfest sausages (hence steroids).  This was super easy and way better than regular hot dogs wrapped in dough.

I bought Schneiders Oktoberfest sausages.   You can use what ever sausage you want, you can even use regular hot dogs (not as good).  These are what puts the steroids in the traditional pigs in blanket.

Here is the creepy Pillsbury wiener wraps.  Follow the instructions on how to unwrap it.  I clearly failed at doing so, I ended up using a knife.

It comes divided into 6 different wraps.  I know there are only 5 showing in that picture but trust me, there was 6.

I cut the sausages in half.  1 whole sausage seems to be a bit much for 1 wrap.  you can try using a full one, no harm done.  I also had mushrooms leftover from making pizza the night before so I threw some in there as well.  You don’t have to use mushrooms; it does taste better though.

The instructions on the package says bake at 375oF for 15-20 minutes.  I baked them for 15 and they came out great.  I sprinkled a bit of cheese on the top; not totally necessary.  These won’t wrap perfectly.  the bottoms might not come together but that’s ok; body builders’ shirts never fit properly anyways.  Its just what happens when steroids are involved. Again that looks like there are only 5.  I just ate one before I took the picture, but trust me again, it does make 6. Enjoy!

Ingredients

1 tube of Pillsbury wiener wraps

3 Oktoberfest sausages (usually comes in packages of 5, you only need 3

Mushrooms (optional)

Cheese (optional)

Directions:

1. Pre-Heat oven to 375oF

2. Cut 3 Oktoberfest sausages in half (total 6 pieces)

3. Unwrap Pillsbury tube

4. Wrap sausage, mushroom (if using) and cheese (if using) into wraps

5. Bake in oven for 15 minutes

One response to “Pigs in a Blanket on Steroids

  1. Hey Munchies,
    Thanks for following my blog. This is cool, Pigs on Steroids. Hey always cook for others. I do and it feels good. Cooking is a stress reliever. They always tell me they feel like their eating at a restaurant.
    Your recipes here look amazing. 🙂
    Look forward to your future post’s.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

