Kale Cooked Pizza Style

Here is the second post for today.  This is becoming one of my new favorite combos.  I haven’t done this before but thought it was a good idea and now I’m hooked!  It helps when you have some of this stuff on hand like the pepperoni.  Some time last week, my sister, Cat, and her bf Ace decided to make a pizza.  There was so much pepperoni leftover, I had to find different ways to get rid of it.  I sometimes drink a kale shake in the mornings, but that day, I was feeling lazy and did not want to get all the stuff and then bust out the blender.  I had some kale on hand so decided to cook it for breakfast since I wasn’t getting my kale shake.  Hope you guys like this one as much as I did.   As always, skip to the end for ingredients and step by step directions.

20121128_121614

I usually use around 4 stalks of kale leaves for my shakes, so I used the same amount for this meal.  Wash the kale and cut vertically into bands to make it easier to eat.

20121128_122124

I had some pepperoni leftover from a pizza frenzy one day.  I cut around 6 slices for this.  You will see later there was only 5, that’s because I had to “taste test”, see I think of everything for you guys.  (note. cut extra slices because you will for sure snack on pepperonis).

20121128_122816

Bring a pot of water (you don’t need a lot of water) to a boil.  Salt the water and boil your kale in the water.  This takes about 4-5 minutes.

20121128_123205

While your kale cooks, heat up a pan and just sear the pepperonis.  This is not to cook it as pepperoni are usually cooked already, but the searing makes the pepperoni taste better, at least I like it more.  (note there are still 6 slices of pepperoni)

20121128_122411

Remove the pepperoni if they’re good to go, it takes about 2 minutes on each side.  You can keep them in the pan to keep them warm if you want.  When the kale is done, strain it and cook it on the pan with some tomato sauce.  This is the tomato sauce I had.  Its Italian sausage tomato sauce, yum.

20121128_123522

I scooped about 2 small spoon fulls of sauce and just mixed it into the kale.  It shouldn’t take long since your kale is already cooked, you just want to heat the sauce up a bit.


20121128_124142

Now put you bed of kale on the bottom, and top it with the pepperoni (how many pepperoni slices do you see now? looks like something happened in between).  Top with cheese of your choice.  I used Tex Mex monterey jack and cheddar because that’s just what I had.  You can stop here but I took it a step further and it is so worth it.



20121128_124258

What breakfast is complete without an egg? I just had to fry up an egg and put it on top

Wait for it….

20121128_124359

Yes I had to get my leaking yolk going! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

4 stalks of kale

5 – 6 slices of pepperoni (extra for you to snack on, and trust me, you will snack)

2 spoons of Italian Sausage tomato sauce (you can use whatever tomato sauce you like)

Sprinkle of Tex Mex monterey jack and cheddar cheese (you can use any cheese you like)

1 egg (optional)

Salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Wash 4 stalks of kale leaves and cut vertically into bands

2. Cut 6 slices of pepperoni

3. Bring a pot of water to a boil.  Salt water and cook kale in water for 4-5 minutes

4.  Sear pepperoni in a pan.  About 2 minutes on each side

5.  Strain kale and cook kale in a pan with tomato sauce.  Kale is already cooked so just mix sauce in well with kale and warm sauce.  About 2 minutes

6.  Assemble kale on a plate, add pepperoni and top with cheese

7.  (optional) Fry an egg and put on top

Leave a Reply

