Bun-less Jucy Lucy !

So the Jucy Lucy, I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time.  I saw on an episode of Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives on the food network one time and was how I decided this was going to be on my list of things to make.  It wasn’t the first time I’ve heard of this idea, people been talking to me about it for a while but I guess this made it official.  Apparently 2 bars in Minneapolis both claim to have invented this, Matt’s Bar and 5-8 Club.  One of them, I don’t remember which, spelt it “Jucy Lucy” without the i in juicy while the other had it spelt with the i.  I think “Jucy Lucy” looks cool so I’m sticking with it!   If you don’t know, Jucy Lucy or Juicy Lucy is basically a burger with the cheese in the middle of the burger (stuffed inside) rather than on top like a traditional burger.  Here was my attempt at the Jucy Lucy.  Feel free to skip to the end of ingredients and step by step directions.

DSC09138

Start by chopping 2 small white onions.  The bag of onions I have are all small.  But if you have a bigger onion, 1 onion is good enough.  Just  finely chop the onion(s).

DSC09142

I used ground veal, you can of course use regular beef.  This is about 1kg (approx 2.2 lbs).  I added the onions that was chopped earlier.  I also added 1 tsp (teaspoon) of dried basil, 1 stalk of green onion, 1 tsp dried parsley, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp paprika,  and 1 large egg.  Add a bit of salt and Pepper.    Don’t worry, you will season them again when cooking, so you don’t have to over season now.

DSC09143

Just mix everything together with your hands (or with gloves on).  cover with plastic wrap and let sit for about an hour.

DSC09144

While you wait, you can just chop up some mushrooms, this is how much I used, you can use more or less.  This is for the cheesy mushrooms I put on top, its completely optional (but very delicious).

DSC09145

Line the bottom of the plate with a square parchment paper (to keep burgers from sticking).  I didn’t have squares so I just cut squares out of the bigger sheets.  Form meat mixture into a burger patty and put cheese on top.  You can use whatever cheese you want, I used a mixture of monterey jack and cheddar.  On the episode I saw them use blue cheese, which I like to try one time.

DSC09146

After you added the cheese, just make another patty and put it on top.  Then pinch the sides to completely cave in the cheese.  It might be easier to cook if the patties were thinner, this happens to be the size I made them.  I was able to get 6 patties out of this.

DSC09147

During the process, some cheese fell out, but yea, you’re not suppose to see the cheese.  The meat is suppose to completely wrap the cheese.  Lightly oil a pan and cook them  on medium heat for around 7-9 minutes on each side depending on the thickness.  You can also do it on the grill if you want.  Salt and pepper both sides when cooking the burgers.

DSC09148

If you chose to do the cheesy mushrooms just fire up a pan while the burgers cook (you don’t need to constantly touch them).  Cook the mushrooms down in some oil.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  I also added a dash of cayenne for a little kick.  Then add cheese and melt it into the mushrooms.  The mixture will become oozing goodnes.

DSC09155

This is what the cheesy mushrooms will look like when done.

DSC09160

I did this burger recipe without the buns (hence bun-less), you can of course add the buns.  When the burgers are done, serve with the mushrooms on top and/or your favourite condiments.  Because I didn’t have buns, I added an egg, you can also do an egg with the buns, it’ll be messy but your taste buds will thank you.

The following pictures are just the condiments I added, you don’t have to follow me to the tee.

DSC09161

Burger with an egg and cheesy mushrooms on top (assembly and pics taken by my sister, Cat)

DSC09162

Now with avocado on top

DSC09163

Eggs, cheesy mushrooms, avocados, and red onions on top! I don’t know how she did this, but some impressive burger jenga going on!

DSC09164

Side shot!

20121126_193350

And here is my failed attempt at burger jenga.  I also added some ketchup, Dijon mustard, and pickled jalapeños.  A little sweetness from the ketchup, some tang from the mustard and spice from the jalapeños really help balance this out. Enjoy!

Ingredients: Burgers

1kg (2.2lbs) ground veal

2 small onions

1 tsp dried basil

1 stalk of green onion

1 tsp dried parsley

1/2 tsp chilli powder

1 tsp paprika

1 large egg

Monterey jack and cheddar cheese

salt and pepepr

Cheesy Mushroom Topping

mushrooms

salt and pepepr

dash of cayenne

cheese

Condiments:

Ketchup

Dijon Mustard

Avocados

Red Onions

Pickled Jalapeños

Eggs

Directions: Burgers

1. Mix ground veal, egg, dried basil, green onion, dried parsley, chilli powder, paprika, salt and pepper in a large bowl.

2. Cover with plastic wrap and let sit for 1 hour

3. Form meat mixture into burger patties and place cheese on top.  Form another burger patty and place on top of cheese.  Pinch the sides to form 1 big patty, completely covering the cheese (so the cheese is inside the burger)

4.  Place patties on parchment paper when done to prevent from sticking to each other

5. On medium heat cook burgers for about 7-9 minutes on each side.  Don’t forget to salt and pepper both sides

Cheesy Mushrooms: (Optional)

1. While burgers are cooking, Saute mushrooms in another pan

2. add salt, pepper and dash of cayenne

3. Add Cheese

Assemble however you want, with whatever condiments you like.  I went bunless, you can of course use buns. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

