Ikea Meatballs

Hey guys, doing something new for this post.  For some reason I’ve been hearing a lot of people going to Ikea lately.  It made me crave some of those Ikea Swedish meatballs mmmm.  I did a quick Google search and found this recipe from the food network.  They called it the “Almost-Famous Swedish Meatballs”.  This is going to be my take on it.  I provided a link to the recipe.  I will not be listing ingredients and directions for this one because I don’t want to take any credit for it.  If you want the recipe, go to the link.  I will provide pictures along the way to show you how I made it and what I decided to add/take away/substitute.

Here is the link to the Food Network Recipe.
 http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/almost-famous-swedish-meatballs-recipe/index.html

DSC09198

Pre-heat your oven to 400oF.  The recipe called for 3/4 lbs ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork.  I asked for  1 lb of both and then divided them up accordingly.  I didn’t get a scale out, so this could be off.  That looks about right to me…don’t judge me if that looks really off to you, I know I’m horrible at this measuring stuff =P

DSC09204

Just mix in all the ingredients the recipes said to. (and yes, I did measure here).  I got a little ahead of the recipe; I thought it would be done like this so I went ahead and did it this way.  I also left out the butter this recipe called for.  It’ll probably taste better with butter.  The recipe actually wants you to cook some of the ingredients and let cool before mixing with the meat.  I failed at following instructions (that’s why you don’t see me baking on this blog =P)

DSC09205

I just mixed with my hands.  Make sure you don’t overwork the meatballs.  Just mix until everything is mixed together and you’re good, no need to get a few extra kneads in there; that will make your meatballs tough instead of light.  No one wants a hard meatball right?

DSC09206 With my hands,  I just formed the meat into balls.  As you can tell, they’re not uniform (don’t hate).  the recipe says you can make 45.  I have 30-ish? you can count.  I tend to lose count even on things that aren’t moving around.  Place them on a baking tray lightly coated with oil and these should be ready to go into the oven!  Bake them in the oven for 20 minutes at 400oF.

DSC09224

For the side, I went with mashed potatoes.  Most of you should know how to make mashed potatoes so I won’t really do step by step.  You can ask me for my mashed potatoes recipe and I might eventually post a mashed potato recipe on.   I cooked the mashed potatoes while the meatballs were in the oven.  I left the skin on the potatoes, I enjoy the bite from the skin.  I used margarine instead of butter and skim milk instead of cream.

DSC09215

Now for the gravy.  These are the ingreidents to the gravy from the Food Network recipe.  I used margarine instead of butter and 1% skim milk instead of cream (trying to watch my figure here).

DSC09217

Heat the butter/margarine.  Mix in the flour slowly/sifting it, you don’t want lumps of flour.  This is your roux (or rue).  This is what is going to thicken the gravy.

DSC09221

Pour the remainder of the gravy ingredients in and let simmer.  You should be able to judge the gravy consistency   No one likes a runny gravy.   Make sure you season with salt and pepper.  The recipe calls for low sodium beef stock, which I  used as well.  It would seem a little bland without a little salt.DSC09225

This is what the Gravy looks like when its done.  Just pour it into a bowl or gravy boat and serve later.

DSC09222

When the meatballs are done, just let them sit for a few minutes as they are really hot; don’t want to burn yourself and not be able to taste for the next few days.

DSC09227

Serve with the side of mashed potatoes or your choice of side.  The recipe called for lingoberry jam and Ikea also serves with it.  I didn’t have this so I used orange marmalade (I LOVE marmalade).  Its not the same as the lingoberry jam but it does add a sweetness which works well with the meatballs.

DSC09230

Where is the gravy, you ask? I saved the best for last! finish off with the gravy; as much or as little as you want (hmm sounds kind of like that dumb berry pomegranate mio energy drink commercial). Enjoy!!

Again feel free to ask me any questions.  If you like, I can show you step by step how to make mashed potatoes if you want.  And lastly, again this isn’t my recipe please visit  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/almost-famous-swedish-meatballs-recipe/index.html for the recipe.

One response to “Ikea Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Deconstructed Shepherd’s Pie | Case of the Munchies·

Leave a Reply

