Korean Hot Pot Chicken

You guys are in for a treat here.  This is one of the most simple things you can make but so very tasty (hmm, I don’t use the word tasty much). I don’t know how many of you have had Hot Pot (or Shabu Shabu, a Japanese variant) before. I’m Chinese and Hot Pot has been a staple growing up; especially when I was younger, we would get all excited whenever we had Hot Pot.  Its pretty much a pot of soup in the middle (or just plain water, much better with some sort of soup base) and there’s meat, vegetables and almost anything you can think of.  The raw food is then put into the boil pot of water or soup and that’s how it gets cooked.  Its a nice fun way to cook food and quite interactive, as everybody would cook what they enjoy without worrying about anyone else.  Usually everyone would mix their own sauces, – mixture of soy sauce, sesame oil, green onions, ginger, cilantro, garlic, hot sauces and a variety of different things.  Everyone mixes their own sauce, and when the food is cooked, you would dip it into your sauce.  Some people even crack and beat a raw egg into their sauce; the hot food coming from the boiling pot would then cook the egg bits that stick onto the food.

My Sister, Cat, went to Seoul, Korea for a year to teach English and this summer, the family went to visit her.  She brought us to this place and her description was its pretty much Hot Pot Chicken! but with Kimchi and stuff.  My response? You had me a Hot Pot!  Boy was I glad she took us there.  apparently some Korean people haven’t even heard of this before.  Pretty much this was like Hot Pot I explained above, but instead of various other meats and vegetables, its just chicken.  And the soup base is just water.  They have garlic, green onions, and kimchi for you to add in but its completely up to you.  My grandparents were also on this trip and they don’t each much spicy, their soup was much less red than ours; you can control everything to your preference.    Wow, this is probably the longest Intro I’ve done, hope everyone kept up!  There are no measurements here, I’m sorry, but you honestly don’t need any measurements except to check how many inches your waist expanded; I know every time I have this, everyone ends up over eating.  Forward we go!

DSC09313This, my friends, is a pot of water! Bet you never seen this before! (mind my humor, guys).  The pot is on a portable gas stove, which we pretty much exclusively for hot pot.  My Chinese mother just had to throw in some ginger slices, I doubt those thin slices did anything, but other than that, just water.

DSC09314This is one whole chicken, cut into pieces with some green onions.  There isn’t any specific cuts you need to make. We cut smaller pieces firstly to allow it to cook faster and secondly so everyone doesn’t end up with a giant piece and someone is left with nothing.  This is free range chicken, I’ve done this with cornish hen before.  One chicken might not be enough, I’ve had this with 6 people once, 2 of them being small eaters and we destroyed 2 whole chickens (including rice cakes, potatoes and noodles)

DSC09318

Here are the ingredients to make the sauce.  My sister told us in Korea, they use soy sauce, garlic, white vinegar and hot sauce.  Here we have regular minced garlic, and a garlic browned in oil (Chinese people love browned garlic like this).   the vinegar really make this sauce amazing, I don’t know how or why, it just does!

DSC09325

Instead of hot sauce, I had something special.  My mom always makes homemade chili oil.  Its a mixture of chilies and a bunch of other stuff I can’t even tell you, its her secret but it is so good, better than the chili oils you find at Chinese restaurants.

DSC09319I like to add some Kimchi into my sauce.  I just used store bought Kimchi.  Later I would add some of the Kimchi that was cooked in the hot pot into my sauce to add a little different flavor.  They won’t be as crunchy as the raw ones.  These are all suggestions, do whatever works for you

DSC09317

Turn the heat up on the electric stove.  Just place all chicken and green onions into the pot.  Add some Kimchi; you can add a lot or a little.  For me, More is always better.  Just let the water do its work moving some of the stuff around.  sometimes maybe submerge the chicken from the top into the water to get it to cook a bit faster.  We like to add potatoes, if you do add potatoes, add them in now, since potatoes take a little longer to cook.

DSC09324

These are Korean rice cakes.  You can find them at most Korean or Asian supermarkets.  You should add these when the chicken is about done.  Don’t want to add them in too soon or they will become soggy and gross.

DSC09326

This step is quite important.  The chicken will release some grease just like if you were making your own chicken stock.  The grease will settle on the surface, just take a ladle occasionally and scoop out the oil/fat.  Just pour it into a side bowl.  You don’t need to stress over this, when you see the oil on top, just scoop it away.  You don’t have to be doing this every minute

DSC09327

We like to add some Enoki mushrooms, you don’t have to.  These are so good especially when they soak up all the broth.

DSC09331

We sometimes add an instant ramen noodle or some other noodles.  If you add the instant noodle.  Cook it in another pot first and then rinse it before you put it into the main pot.  Don’t cook the noodle in the pot, the wax off it will ruin your broth.  Not as bad with other noodles, but generally for hot pot, if we add noodles, it will usually be cooked first before placing it in the main pot to soak up broth and to add flavor.

DSC09328

DSC09330This was my bowl.  Just mix everything in there!

DSC09332

A little bit of everything for me! Some noodles, chicken, potato. Enjoy!

I feel silly doing an ingredients list and directions for this one.  I’m going to keep it so simple because I want you to create your own, because that’s exactly point of hot pot; so you can have it your way and not my way.  I will give the base ingredients and basically tell you to throw everything in.  I’m sorry if the directions don’t help at all, and sound sarcastic, but I really want to stress you creating your own hot pot experience here.  If you are having trouble (highly doubt you will run into problems) finding some of this stuff like the gas stove or the rice cakes or something like that, feel free to ask me!

Ingredients:

Chicken, as many as you can eat

Water

Soy Sauce

white vinegar

Garlic

green onion

Kimchi

Rice cakes (optional)

Potatoes (optional)

Noodles (optional)

Enoki Mushrooms (optional)

Directions:

1. Cut chicken into desired size and pieces

2. Get a hot pot pot (is that right? hot pot pot?) and fill it with water

3. Make sauce

4. Throw everything into water!

5 responses to “Korean Hot Pot Chicken

    • Thanks! Me too, especially when its cold out, a nice hot, spicy soup really goes a long way. You should try this; I would say its Korean restaurant quality in your home! haha. Enjoy the holidays!

Leave a Reply

