Seafood Chowder

So everything seems to be getting back to normal after the holidays.  I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays; I sure did.  I was really looking forward to this post because I absolutely love chowder and this tasted so good!  It’s the only recipe I have before the holiday stuff so bare with me.  The posts coming after this should be mostly holiday dishes =), I know many of you are waiting on the holiday stuff and I am too.  Like many others, I’m planning to eat healthy and clean for the New Year, so I hopefully I keep that up and am able to make some awesome tasting healthy stuff.  Let’s get started.  In case you all forgot because I took some time off.  There will be an ingredients list and step by step directions at the end.

DSC09347

DSC09352

I actually made my own seafood stock for the chowder.  This process takes some time but I think its worth it.  You can buy store bought, I don’t really know how that works, I’ve never bought it before, I heard you can buy seafood boullion (broth) cubes.  I have bought clam juice in liquid form before which works great too.  If you have any questions about the seafood stock I made, feel free to ask.  You should be careful when buying broth because they’re usually salted already (hence broth) I will be telling you to add salt and pepper so if you are using broth, please adjust accordingly, we don’t want to make a overly salty chowder.

DSC09355

Start off by chopping 2 small onions (or 1 med-large onion), 2 stalks of celery and 1 carrot.

DSC09364

Chop about 1/3 a cup of parsley.

DSC09353

Peel and chop 3 medium sized russet potatoes.  You can use red, or Yukon gold, I just happened to have russet on hand.  Just chop them into little manage-able pieces, you don’t want to make them too small.

DSC09357

I used shrimp.  Didn’t want to waste full sized and fresh shrimp for this so I used some frozen ones.  Just give them a rough chop.

DSC09368

I made the seafood stock and chowder on the same day so I just took the claws out when they were done (don’t want to take it out after the stock is done because overcooked lobster becomes very tough).  You could use frozen tail meat as well.  You could use fresh lobster tails but I would rather eat fresh lobster tail by itself.  If you are not making your own stock, just boil the lobster claws in some salted water for about 7 minutes or so.  You can cook the whole lobster but only use the claw meat for the chowder or whatever you like.

DSC09359

In a medium size or large stock pot, saute the onions, celery and carrots (mirepoix) in some olive oil.  Lightly season with salt and pepper.

DSC09358

While the mirepoix is cooking down, measure out your roux (equal parts flour to fat).  I used margarine instead of butter (keeping it relatively healthy) This is 3 tablespoons (tbsp) of both margarine and flour.

DSC09360

When the mirepoix is cooked down, add the roux.  I know what you’re thinking; what the heck, man, 2 french words in 1 sentence? who do you think you are?! (I think its french?)

DSC09361

Now add about 2 cups of the seafood stock.  Add potatoes and cook until fork tender.

DSC09374

When potatoes are cooked, add 2 more cups of seafood stock.  Add the shrimp, lobster and corn.  I used corn kernels from a can because that’s all I had, You can cut corn off the cob, I’ve done that before as well.  You don’t want to add these in with the potatoes because potatoes take longer to cook and shrimp and lobster would be tough if cooked for a long time. I don’t have a picture but I also threw in some of the chopped parsley.   Let chowder simmer until the shrimp is cooked through (doesn’t take very long).  I added milk (skim milk) I know its not as rich, if you want you can use cream or 1/2 and 1/2 it would probably be much more rich, but I’m semi healthy mode.  This is where you would season with salt and pepper.

DSC09383

Pour out into individual bowls and garnish with remaining parsley.

DSC09381

You have no idea how badly I wanted to do a bread bowl with this.  It was so last minute I wasn’t able to go get one.  But imagine eating this chowder out of a bread bowl! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

3 Russet potatoes

2 small onions

1 carrot

2 stalks of celery

Shrimp

4 Lobster claws

Corn

3 tablespoons of butter or margarine

3 tablespoons of all purpose flour

About 1/2 to 3/4 cup of milk – if using cream or 1/2 and 1/2 might have to use a little less

Abouty 1/3 cup of chopped parsley

4 cups of seafood stock (homemade).  use store bought if that’s all you can find.  Clam juice would work too.

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Chop onions, celery, and carrots, potatoes, and parsley

2. Cook lobster claw in boiling water for about 8 minutes.  Take out the meat and rinse in cold water to prevent any further cooking. Chop meat into bite size pieces

3. Peel shrimp if using shrimp with shell, if using frozen, thaw under cold water, shouldn’t take very long

4. Saute onions, celery and carrots in a stock pot

5. When veggies are cooked down, add margarine and flour

6. Add 2 cups of the stock and potatoes.  Simmer until potatoes are fork tender

7. When potatoes are ready, add remainder of stock (2 cups) and add in shrimp, lobster meat, corn and parsley

8. Add in milk or cream and let simmer for a few more minutes.  Season with salt and pepper

9. Serve with some chopped parsley for garnish

6 responses to “Seafood Chowder

    • Thanks! I was going to use some of the tail meat as well but thought maybe I will just seared these in some garlic butter, and use the claws for the chowder.

  1. Looks lovely. Very healthy and tasty too, I’ll bet. Just right for January. As I type, I am a physical wreck from a long cycle on Sunday and a big gym session this evening. I am getting too old for it! NOT.
    Best,
    Conor

    • Thanks! Haha, never too old! I’m actually pretty sore from snowboarding for the first time the other day. Constantly falling didn’t really help either haha

Leave a Reply

