Pizza Spaghetti

Hey guys, I know its long past the holidays but we all need some holiday food in our lives, right?  This one was awesome, first time I tried this, I saw it somewhere and thought I have to try this! Pretty simple concept but makes you look like a genius for making it.  In case you all read wrong, yes, It says Pizza Spaghetti!  Similar to the lasagna recipe, because this was made during the holidays, I couldn’t measure everything out precisely.  Honestly speaking, no one needs precise measurements when cooking, its all about your personal preference.  Hope you all like this one as much as I did.

DSC09726

Start by Pre heating the oven to 375oF.  I began cooking the spaghetti now.  The timing works out pretty nicely.  Just follow the instructions on the package of pasta you use.  While the pasta cooked, I proceeded to chopping some mushrooms up.  Added most of them to a pan, just cooked them down with a little olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper.

DSC09727

I bought some pepperoni and cut them into slices and added most of them to the mushrooms and sauted them together.  Remember to leave a little pepperoni and mushrooms to top your “pizza”.

DSC09728

Next, I added a can of Tomato sauce.  You can use any brand of Tomato sauce.  This one was around 750 ml.  I also added a little fresh oregano to make it  more pizza like.

DSC09730

I added the spaghetti to the tomato sauce, mushrooms and pepperoni mixture.  I then added some cheese and mixed it until the pasta was coated with sauce and the cheese melted.

DSC09731

When everything is mixed transfer spaghetti onto a baking dish.  I have these tin trays, I use for big crowds and for bigger quantities.  They’re great for pot lucks as well because you can just throw them out after.

DSC09736

I layered the remaining pepperoni and mushrooms I set aside from earlier on top of the spaghetti.  Add cheese and its ready for the oven.  Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes.  I you chose to make the pasta ahead of time and put it in the fridge, you might have to cook it for longer to heat everything all the way through.

DSC09756

DSC09755

Everyone sees pizza and expects pizza, but are then surprised because its spaghetti!   If you really want, you can add more cheese to erase any evidence of the pasta to really get people thinking its pizza.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Mushrooms

Pepperoni

Spaghetti

Cheese

Tomato sauce

Salt and Pepper

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 375oF.  Cook Pasta in water

2. While pasta cooks, chop mushrooms and pepperoni into slices

3. Sauté mushrooms and pepperoni in a pan (leave some extra to top the pizza).  When cooked, add tomato sauce.

4.  Add cooked pasta into pan of sauce.  Add cheese and mix well

5. Transfer spaghetti and sauce into a baking tray.  Top with remaining mushrooms and pepperoni.  Add cheese

6. Bake in oven for 20 minutes

By all means, use whatever toppings you enjoy on your pizza, don’t have to follow me exactly.  Hope you all enjoyed this one!

4 responses to “Pizza Spaghetti

  1. I made the pizza spaghetti with my boyfriend and his son this weekend, and he loved it! It was a fun first time cooking experience for him, thanks for sharing this! We just added red and green peppers and onions, it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

