Chorizo Tacos/Enchiladas

Hello everyone, what’s for dinner you say? Tacos!  I love tacos just as much as the next person..well maybe I like tacos a little more than the next person, but it doesn’t change the fact tacos are on the menu =).  I’ve only recently started making my own chorizo; I use to just cook up some ground beef with cumin, chili powder etc.  I actually saw this once on the show Chuck’s week off where he went to Mexico.  They were making Chorizo enchiladas and I heard the recipe for the chorizo, I thought hmm, that doesn’t seem too difficult.  I looked up the recipe later and decided to follow it exactly.  It turned out great, but then I felt too lazy to look at it every time I want to have tacos (which is quite often) so I just do everything by feel and preference.  If you want here is the recipe for Jaime’s Chorizo Enchiladas (Jaime is the guy Chuck met up with in Mexico who made this).

DSC09710

Easiest way to do this is like it says in the recipe, throw everything in the food processor.  I did it by hand, I don’t tend to bring out the food processor unless I absolutely need it.  As for grounding coriander seeds and cumin seeds, I find putting them in a coffee grinder really gets the job done.

DSC09714

DSC09719

After playing around with this recipe a few times, ended up adding 1 more ancho chili to it.  The recipe on the site says 2 guaiillo and 1 ancho, I pretty much used 2 of each.  If you never used dried chilies before, they’re really easy.  Might look a little intimidating at first, but just put the dried chilies in a bowl and pour some hot water over them and let them rehydrate for about 5 minutes.  They will become soft and easy to cut.  Like regular chilies, just cut off the tops and remove the seeds.  You can then chop them up finely if you’re mixing it by hand, like me, or throw them in the food processor after removing the seeds.

DSC09725

Mix all the ingredients into 2 lbs of ground pork (paprika, coriander, cumin, oregano, garlic, red wine vinegar, chili guajillo, chili ancho).  I didn’t have smoked paprika so I used regular, and didn’t have fresh oregano so I used dried.  I just eyeballed everything into a large mixing bowl and mixed with my hands, if you choose to follow the recipe, you can do it in a food processor.  I sometimes add a little red pepper flakes for a little spice since the guajillo and ancho chilies are mild and I like a little spice.

DSC00071

Just cook the chorizo in a pan until the meat is cooked remember to season with some salt and pepper.  The recipe recommends adding a little water if needed or some salsa and cheese at the end to keep it moist, you can do that if you wish.  You don’t need to use oil to cook this, the fat from the pork will be sufficient.  Its pretty cool because of the chilies, you get this beautiful golden oil.

Serve this however you want, the recipe tells you to serve with tortillas, pico de gallo, queso fresco cheese, refried beans.  But you can do what ever you like.

DSC09752

I made a taco bar over the holidays and this chorizo was part of it, it was a huge success.  At first no one wanted to make a taco because I have lazy friends.  But once the first person made one and loved it, they diminished really quickly.  There was a lot more of the chorizo left off this dish, 2 lbs of pork can probably get you 2 large sections of that dish.  On the far side, that was a beef mixture I made with cumin, onions, chili powder, paprika, and cilantro.  The guacamole was wrapped to prevent browning.

DSC00073

DSC00076

Here is another way to eat this.  Just reheat some corn tortillas, and put the chorizo inside.  Top with onions, cilantro and a lime wedge.  Can’t get more simple than this.

DSC00079

DSC00080

Here is me playing around with some different condiments.  Guacamole, pico de gallo, a yogurt sauce I made with Greek yogurt, garlic, lime juice and cilantro.  The Greek yogurt is awesome because its pretty healthy and everyone thinks its sour cream but little did they know, I’m helping everyone watch their figures ;). These are great for lunch or dinner.  You can even have them for a light appetizer to another main course. Enjoy!

You can follow my list of ingredients for a reference since I don’t really measure exactly how much I use or you can go to the cooking channel site for the actual recipe without my modifications.  Jaime’s Chorizo Enchiladas 

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground pork

2 guajillo chili

2 ancho chili

Ground coriander

Ground cumin

Fresh or dried oregano

Smoked or regular paprika

Red wine vinegar

Garlic

Red pepper flakes (optional)

Salt and pepper

Directions:

1. If needed,  in a coffee grinder, grind up some cumin seeds and coriander seeds. ( I’ve never used pre ground coriander but you can find pre ground cumin and coriander is stores)

2. Boil a little water in a kettle (doesn’t have to be boiling, but pretty hot). Place guajillo and ancho chilies in a bowl and pour hot/boiling water over them to dehydrate.  When soft, cut open and remove the seeds.

3.  Either in a mixing bowl or a food processor, mix, pork, guajillo, ancho, coriander, cumin, oregano, paprika, garlic, red pepper flakes (optional) and red wine vinegar together.

4.  When combined, cook in a pan until meat is cooked

5. Serve on corn tortillas and with condiments of your choice.

Cooking channel recommends serving with pico de gallo,  queso fresco, and refried beans.

I served with guacamole, yogurt garlic sauce, pico de gallo, lime wedge, raw onions, and cilantro.

11 responses to “Chorizo Tacos/Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Spanish Chorizo Omelette with Irregular Mushrooms | Cooking in Sens·

  2. I missed this post Caseylee. Looks like you really like Mexican food. I like the last 4 shots. Close ups well taken. Very creative and makes the food look appealing. Thanks for sharing amigo!! Little Spanish to go with the food!! 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • You got that right! I really like Mexican food, don’t know what I would do without it haha. I don’t know how authentic I’m making it, but the inspirations, the idea of simple cooking, the spices, I just love so much. Thanks for stopping by. Gracias! – just throwing the limited Spanish I know around haha!

  3. Pingback: Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms | Case of the Munchies·

Leave a Reply

