Eating Toronto – Le Café Michi

Hey, welcome to another episode (yes, I just called this an episode) of Eating Toronto.  Hope you all enjoyed El Trompo from last time.  I am thinking of making a set schedule for these Eating Toronto posts.  I’m still figuring some things out as to how to do this and then I’ll get a firm day to pump these posts out.  Hope you guys stick with me!

Le Cafe Michi
1802 Pharmacy Ave, Toronto, ON M1T1H6, CA

DSC00026

This time I went to Le Café Michi.  Don’t be fooled by the name, this was actually a Japanese restaurant café style.  My friend, Anita turned me to this place and glad that she did.  This is a great little find, another hidden gem.  It’s located in Scarborough at Shepperd ave. E and Pharmacy ave.  I wasn’t too sure about this place at first as it is a really random area for a Japanese restaurant and quite hidden.  This is a small joint owned by actual Japanese people, which is good to see.  Its a nice shift away from all the generic all you can eat “Japanese” restaurants around the city.

DSC00023

DSC00025

Reading comments online, the number one thing I read was this place is tiny and if you don’t make reservations, its going to be hard to get seats.  So of course made reservations.  As I walked in, I can see what people were talking about, there is no real space to move around once you’re in your seat.  There are 2 tables behind me, the ones you see here and some in the bar area in the back room (bottom picture).

DSC00004At the front they have this cute little display case showing off their alcohol and desserts.  I heard the cakes here were good and I was starving because we were running a little late so I was tempted to just grab a whole cake and just start eating away.  On top of the counter they had some jewelry for sale, not sure if it was homemade or not, I was there to eat, not to buy jewelry =P!

DSC00005

I thought it was cool to have the menu, and then a side booklet of the menu items with pictures.  Just thought it would be good to take note of this feature.

What about the food, Casey?! We want to see the food! I hear ya, I hear ya!  And on that note, cue the food!!

Café au Lait Chirashi – What I ordered – About 30$ CAD before tax

DSC00007

This meal started off with a light seaweed salad.  Not much to say other than that, the salad was just that, a salad, nothing out of the ordinary.

DSC00013

Look at this bowl of treasures!  Assorted sashimi on sushi rice.  I don’t know about you but I love Uni (Sea Urchin), there was another meal similar to this with sashimi on rice but without Uni, I had to go with the one with Uni!  DSC00012

At first I just picked off some of the assorted sashimi with my chopsticks.  I got to say the quality of the fish was pretty decent, but I mean, being in Toronto, we aren’t going to get the best quality fish out there, so don’t be expecting that.  With that said, the quality is much much better than what you will find in the all you can eat joints you find popping up around the city.

DSC00014The best part about this dish was that its the bowl that keeps on giving.  As I picked off enough sashimi to see rice, I started eating some of the fish with the rice (probably how it was meant to be eaten since it came with a spoon). I was pleasantly surprised by what I found.  I was thinking it was just rice under but instead there was a layer of eggs and then some Unagi (eel) and sauce. Mixing all that with some of the fresh sashimi was very good.  Imagine getting some Uni, a little bit of rice, some of the egg and a bit of the Unagi and its sauce; the perfect bite.  The sweetness and creaminess of the Uni goes well with that bite of rice with a little bit of the Unagi, YUM!

Chyo-chin Bento – What the ladies ordered (both went with the same thing) – about 24 CAD before tax.

DSC00008

This meal also started with a salad but this one was a regular green salad.  Again nothing out of the ordinary, good to get in some veggies I suppose.

DSC00010

This was the Chicken Karaage (Japanese Fried Chicken) portion of the bento.   The batter wasn’t too thick, it had a very good crunch to it, not soggy at all.  The chicken under was cooked perfectly, tender and moist, good flavor.  The spicy mayo on top provided a nice kick, not overly spicy.

How is this a bento you ask? I was thinking the exact thing myself.

DSC00011Look, there’s more!  Now that’s how you innovate a bento box.  Under the chicken was some assorted sashimi.  I didn’t try this since I had my own sashimi in my bowl.  I’m pretty sure the same applies here.  The only problem I’m guessing is that the sashimi might be a bit warm because it was sandwiched between some warm dishes.

DSC00015

But wait, there’s more! ( I sound like a late night infomercial)  Under the sashimi, there was some Unagi (eel) on rice with the sauce.  It was quite a surprise for us to find out how their bento worked, very innovative and different from what we’re use to.

Dessert

Chocolate Sake Cake

DSC00019The meals above comes with dessert which you’re allowed to choose from the front display.  I went with the chocolate sake cake.  The cake was pretty good, you will like this if you like chocolate.  Its not a super sweet chocolate, a little bit like dark chocolate, big chocolate flavor but not too sweet.  So if you’re looking for a sweet chocolate, this might not be for you.  Also you could really taste the sake, so if a little alcoholic flavor isn’t your cup of tea, you might want to pass on this one.  I enjoyed it, though.

Green Tea Cake

DSC00016The girls went with the Green Tea Cake because one of them has had it before and says it is amazing.  I went with the chocolate just to get a little more variety.  I wish I had went with this cake instead because this cake was absolutely delicious.  The cake was moist, the mouse was light and creamy.  Similar to the chocolate cake, this cake was not overly sweet but definitely satisfies your sweets craving.  The red bean filling inside compliments the green tea so well and adds that extra sweetness you might be looking for.  This cake is a must try when you visit.

Overall I think this place is definitely worth checking out.  A hidden gem in the middle of the city.  I have not had the chance to try more of the menu, but the items that I have tried, I would recommend.  The sashimi bowl for me was good but wouldn’t mind having a little bit of the fried chicken.  Maybe you could be like me and order the bowl and have others get the bento and steal some chicken.

Pricing wise, it might be a little bit on the pricey side for some but not overly.  The green tea cake was the star and is the must have item here.  A great little joint, definitely go check it out.

Le Cafe Michi
1802 Pharmacy Ave, Toronto, ON M1T1H6, CA

14 responses to “Eating Toronto – Le Café Michi

    • Friend chicken haha! If you didn’t correct yourself I actually wouldn’t have noticed. The green tea cake was very good, definitely worth trying; I thought it was the highlight of the night, not to say the other stuff wasn’t good. I heard somewhere they don’t do reservations if you’re only going for dessert so maybe watch out for that. If you end up trying, let me know what you think =)

    • I’ll happily point you around the places to eat around the city. Weirdly enough, I haven’t even been to as many places as I would like, but have a few places in my back pocket that for sure would be to your liking. I don’t live downtown so its not an everyday thing where I’m in the downtown core, but I do go downtown to eat. Especially since I’m doing this section, I’m going to be making more trips downtown. Next time you’re in Toronto, let me know, I can point you to a few places. =)

    • I hear ya! I wasn’t a huge dessert or cake person, I guess I’m starting to enjoy them more. I use to never crave a cake or dessert, but now I occasionally crave some cake. With that said, I still wouldn’t call myself a dessert/cake person, but this cake definitely makes a case for itself! Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Wow, that’s quite the array of food! My husband & I love sushi and sashimi, so just looking at the photos has me craving some. I’m really enjoying your blog – thanks for sharing!

    • =) Sushi is one of those things I can rely on when I have trouble deciding what to eat; usually doesn’t disappoint (depends where I go). Thanks so much for stopping by, I’m glad you enjoy the blog!

  2. Well done Caseylee I am very impressed with how you did this review.
    Now if you go back and see the like’s on your last review and this one..you had 11 likes last time and 15 on this post. With a few more comments. Little by little Caseylee things will happen. Your doing great with this idea of yours.

    Thanks for sharing. One other thing..if you are going to do this…and people begin to read your reviews..they are going to expect them to be posted regularly. So if you decide to post every Thursday (which Jan 31 was), then you need to post every Thursday or what ever day you choose. When something GOOD is a weekly report people expect it weekly..same day same time. Just an idea. 🙂

    Keep up the excellent work and I look forward to next weeks review here at Eating Toronto.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • Hey Randall, Thanks for stopping by and enjoying! I liked your idea about making it a weekly thing. As of right now, I don’t know if I can commit to a specific day as I have a few things going on. But slowly I’m going to get into a rhythm and start doing the weekly idea. Stay tuned for the next one!

Leave a Reply

