Garlic Cilantro Tilapia

So this is going to be a short post.  Short because it is so easy to make.  Great for lunch or dinner.  And if you want even put them in a sandwich with your favorite condiments or put some in between corn tortillas and make fish tacos.  This is a very versatile recipe, hope you enjoy it!

DSC09858

I used tilapia fillets, you can use any white flaky fish you want.  I have used cod fillets before, works great.  I like tilapia because its easy to find (most supermarkets will have it).  Just marinade the fillet in some olive oil, garlic, cilantro, dash of cayenne pepper, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  You don’t have to marinade it for long, just let it sit for around 20-30 minutes.  If you’re low on time, its okay to use right away as well.

DSC09857

Cut asear medium-large sized portebello mushroom into slices and just cook in a skillet with some olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  You don’t have to copy this exactly but I love portebello mushrooms so this worked really well for me.

DSC09859

DSC09864

Sear the fish in some oil for about 3 minutes on each side and you’re done! Easy, right?

DSC09866

When I made this, it was for lunch the next day.  So I put the fish on a bed of the mushrooms and had a separate container for a side of salad.  The next day, you just have to heat the fish/mushroom container up and you have a beautiful lunch.  I think I won lunch wars that day ;).

DSC09934

This is an example of a time I made fish with similar ingredients.  I think I added red pepper flakes here for a little extra kick.  I didn’t know what fish it was, these photos are actually in a folder labeled “mystery fish” haha.  Put 2 fillets together, have a side of mixed greens and some beautiful grape tomatoes and this can be dinner as well.

IMG-20120817-00168

IMG-20120809-00140

These are pictures from before I started to do this blog.  I use to make fish tacos with this fish.  I didn’t put the cilantro in with the fish, but I did put cilantro on top.  The rest is the same though.  I would top the tacos with some red onions, cilantro, red cabbage (sometimes) and a garlic yogurt sauce I make.

IMG-20120815-00165

While I was looking through old pictures, I stumbled on this one so I thought I’d show you guys as well just to give you some ideas on what you can do with this recipe.  As you see here, I didn’t use cilantro, but again, everything else is the same, the garlic, cayenne, lemon juice etc.  I seared the fish and put it on a bed of homemade hummus, a side of guacamole and topped with red onions and red cabbage.  Fish and guacamole are very good friends, give it a try if you haven’t before.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Tilapia fillets or flaky fish of your choice.  Cod works well too

Garlic

Lemon Juice

Cayenne Pepper, could also add red pepper flakes if you want extra kick

Cilantro

Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

Portebello Mushroom

Directions:

1. Marinade fish in olive oil, garlic, cayenne, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Let sit for 20-30 minutes if possible

2. Chop portebello mushroom in slices.  Cook in skillet with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

3. Cook fish in skillet in some oil for about 3-4 minutes on each side of until it is “flake-able” with a fork.

4.  Place mushrooms on the bottom, top with the fish.  Serve with salad/sides of your choice

This recipe is so versatile, you can have it for lunch, dinner, appetizers or for which ever meal you’re feeling.  Change it up, variety is key.  Add more sides or have an extra fillet for dinner.  Mix it with greens for lunch.  Put a bit in tortillas and make fish tacos.  Put some in between bread and make a delicious fish sandwich.  It’s all up to you.  Let me know how you decide to eat it!

7 responses to “Garlic Cilantro Tilapia

    • Thanks! Haha, I would be lying if I said I haven’t done that before. There were times when the fish barely made it to the plate, and the ones that did, weren’t in 1 piece haha 😀

Leave a Reply

