Chili

So I’ve been wanting to do this post for a very long time.  I originally made this over the holidays; I didn’t get a chance to get a picture of the chili by itself so I waited until I made this again to get a picture.  I finally got around to making chili recently so you’re all in luck!  I actually saw an episode of Diners Dive ins and Dives from the Food Network; I absolutely love that show!  I saw this chili recipe from the episode when Guy visited “The Diner” in Norman, Oklahoma.  You can find the recipe at the following link.   http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/southside-chili-recipe/index.html.  I have never followed the exact measurements for this. Now when I do this chili I just do it by memory and might be different measurements every time, feel free to copy this recipe exactly if you wish.  I got to say though, this recipe is amazing, everyone loves it, I can see how it won Oklahoma State chili champions multiple times.

DSC09653

This is not the best picture, a little over exposed but that is just about 1lb of ground beef and onions.  I use to make chili by browning the beef first and adding everything else, but this recipe basically just tells you to throw everything int he pot together so that is what I did.  I used more onions than the recipe calls for, but I like onions a lot.

DSC09656

DSC09654

Throw in one can of diced tomatoes.  I used Unico branded (796ml).  You can use whatever brand you want.  And here are my spices, paprika, chili powder, cumin, cayenne.  I also added red pepper flakes and didn’t use any sugar.

DSC09661

Like the recipe says just let it simmer for about 2 hours.  After 2 hours, add the remaining spices and continue to let simmer for 1 more hour.  This actually makes the beef so tender and allows all the flavors to merge.  A very very good chili.  You don’t have to spend much time either since you just leave it there to let simmer for hours.  You can go do your exercise  watch a movie, etc.  I don’t recommend you go out since you should never leave the house with the stove on but you all know that :p.

20130220_182749

20130220_182717

Just sprinkle with a little cheese and serve by itself or serve in a bread bowl, corn bread etc.  I put it on some burgers as well, you will be seeing the burgers i put this chili on in the future so keep your eyes opened for that! Enjoy!

Here is the link to the recipe again. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/southside-chili-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

1 lb lean ground beef

1/2 onion, diced (as is on recipe) – for me I used more

1 796ml can of diced tomatoes

Paprika

Chili powder

Red chili flakes

Cumin

Salt and Pepper

Directions:

1. Put ground beef, can of tomatoes, onions into a stock pot.

2. Add half of the spices

3. Stir around to break beef up.  Keep stirring until all the beef is broken up.

4. Let simmer for 2 hours.  After 2 hours add the remaining spices

5. Serve

10 responses to “Chili

  1. Looks great. My mom always made us chili as kids and I hated it. But as I grew, also I grew to like chili. Hey thanks for sharing this post and the nice memories it brought me. 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • I’m glad I was able to bring back some sweet childhood memories for you. I haven’t really experienced chili until I was quite old and loved it right away. I have a feeling I would have not liked it if I had it as a kid.

  2. Is the sauce is made with 75 Montepulciano and 25 Merlot.

    This is how long It takes a busy waiter or waitress
    to return with the exception of the winery. Most RV Parks
    do not offer these types of wine production is called as
    Viticulture. Wine has been expanded and upgraded, with a spicy meal.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Burgers | Case of the Munchies·

Leave a Reply

