Beef Filling Phyllo Puffs

Hello! It seems like a while since I’ve posted anything.  I have been a little busy.  I hope you all enjoy this one.  I am going to show you how to make a shepherd’s pie inspired filling inside phyllo dough triangles.  This one took a bit of effort on my part since I haven’t used phyllo dough before.  This stuff works great though.  I definitely will be using it a lot more in the future; I could use these triangles with a variety of things and it will be great.  I was thinking of adding some mashed potatoes next time to turn them into shepherd’s pie puffs.

DSC00157

Start off by sauteing half of a medium onion, diced.  Once the onions is soft, add about 1 lb of lean ground beef.  Season with salt and pepper.

DSC00156 DSC00159 DSC00160

Once beef is cooked (no longer pink) add about 3/4 – 1 cup of beef broth.  I used a low sodium beef broth so I can control the salt content.  Add flower to thicken the broth.  Then add some corn kernels.  You don’t want to over cook the corn, so you shouldn’t put them in right at the beginning   .

DSC00162

The consistency should be almost like a stew.  I like it when a little thick, makes it more smooth and rich.

DSC00164

Here comes the fun part!  If you never used phyllo before, its just sheets of pastry layered over each other. It usually rolled and frozen.  Just let it thaw and it should unravel pretty easily.

DSC00170 DSC00165

For this particular recipe.  I split the phyllo up.  I separated them and used 3-4 sheets at a time.  So just count 3-4 sheets and set them apart from each other.  Also with a sharp knife, I cut every set of 3-4 sheets of phyllo into strips.  This way I can make the triangles

DSC00171

As you saw in the very first phyllo photo, the phyllo was in a rectangular form after being rolled out.  After i separated them into 3-4 sheet sets and cut them into strips; this is what it should look like.  Every strip set of 3-4 sheets of phyllo will be 1 triangle.  I know my wording might be a little confusing, feel free to ask me if you are confused.  I just took a spoon full of the Shepherd’s pie filling and placed it on the phyllo like that.

DSC00172

Rolling the dough may seem confusing but it really isn’t too difficult.  I hope these pictures help.  First you will take 1 corner and fold it over.  In the above photo, I folded it from right to left. You can see a triangle after the first fold.  Now you should have a triangle with a long tail.  Take top pointy end and fold it down.
DSC00174

You should now still have a triangle with a tail, but the tail should be shorter and the points of your triangle should be in different places.  Now you should take the left top corner and fold it to the right side.
DSC00175

Your triangle should have the top point on the right now.  There should be a very short “tail” now, all you need to do wrap that tail around your triangle and tuck it under.

DSC00177

And there you go!  If you are still having trouble.  Feel free to look up a tutorial on youtube, or ask me, and I will try to help you the best I can.

DSC00178

Just repeat until you have used up all the filling.  Bake these in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.  I should have put a little egg wash over them for a nice gloss, but I didn’t.  They still turned out great though.

DSC00190

These little pockets of flavor are great because they are so versatile.  You can serve them by themselves and they can act as an appetizer.  You can have 2 and call it lunch/snack.  I served it with a side salad for dinner.

DSC00186 DSC00189   I simply cut up some cucumbers, red onions, and shaved some carrots.  Threw them on a bed of spinach and added some beautiful grape tomoatoes. I made a very simple honey mustard dressing (dijon mustard, honey, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper).

DSC00193 DSC00199

Enjoy! You can fill these with whatever you like. As I said earlier, if I added some mashed potatoes, this can be shepherd’s pie puffs.  Maybe put some curry powder and make samosas, its up to you!

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground beef

3/4-1 cup low sodium beef broth

1/2 medium onion, diced

corn

phyllo dough

All purpose flour

Salt and pepper

Salad (optional)

Directions:

1. Dice 1/2 medium onion

2. Cook onions in a pan. When cooked add ground beef, season with salt and pepper

3. When beef is cooked add beef broth – season again if using low sodium broth.  Add in flour.

4. When thickened add corn.  Stir well, remove from heat and set aside.

5. Pre-Heat oven to 375

6. Unroll phyllo dough.  separate into 3-4 sheet sets.  Cut each 3-4 sheet sets into strips.

7. Spoon some beef filling and roll into triangles. Repeat until finished filling

8. Bake triangles in oven for about 20 minutes or until golden brown

4 responses to “Beef Filling Phyllo Puffs

    • thanks, it was actually inspired by a salad I had the day before at a restaurant. I thought just plain spinach as I sometimes do got a little too boring

  1. This is a very healthy dinner! I’d be tempted just to devour the entire plate of puffs once they come out of the oven.

Leave a Reply

