Rack of Lamb with Dill-Mushroom Mashed Potatoes

I’m surprised its taken me this long to do a lamb post.  I love the way lamb taste.  When I read “rack of lamb” on a restaurant menu, it opens up a soft spot in me and makes it very difficult not to order it.  Today I will show you how to make a beautiful rack of lamb with a mouth watering dill mushroom mashed potatoes on the side.

DSC00703

Start off with a rack of lamb.  Just rinse it with water to clean the meat and dry it with paper towel.  Trim off some excess fat if you like; I left the fat on for this one.  Lamb isn’t generally too fat and therefore sometimes making the meat a little on the dry-er side.  I like to leave the fat on to keep the meat moist (I don’t really know if that’s what happens, but hey, it tastes great afterwards so I’m not complaining).  I sometimes bite off the excess fat when cooked if it seems a little too much.

DSC00704 DSC00707

Sprinkle salt and pepper on both sides of the lamb.  You can use a little more to help penetrate meat.  Then add dijon or your favorite kind of mustard (I used a spicy dijon), balsamic vinegar,  minced garlic, and dried rosemary.  In the summer time, I grow my own herbs so I would use fresh rosemary.  Just mix everything with your hands; really spread it out and coat the meat evenly.  Let the marinated lamb sit for 30 minutes to 1 hour.  Pre heat the oven to 400oF.  Right before you put the lamb in the oven, just throw on some panko bread crumbs around the lamb to form a crust (or regular bread crumbs if you don’t have panko, I happen to like the crunch panko gives).  Put the lamb in the oven and set it for 30 minutes – you might have to adjust the time according to how thick your cut of meat is.  I find 30-40 minutes is generally enough for average sized racks if you’re looking for medium-rare.

While the lamb cooks in the oven, its the perfect time to get started on the dill/mushrooms mashed potatoes.  The idea came to me as I was debating what sides I should do for the lamb.  I had a lot of potatoes so thought mashed potatoes.  Plain mashed potatoes seemed a little boring.  I remember buying a large bunch of dill the day before for fish and didn’t use it all.  Dill pickles chips taste good and chips are just potatoes, right? So why not dill mashed potatoes.  I love sauté mushrooms as well so why not combine them! (another peek into my brain and see how (dys) functional) it is).

DSC00708

Chop about 4 potatoes to make it easier to cook and place them in salted boiling water.   I don’t remember what types of potatoes these are, I want to say yukon gold but I can’t say for sure.

DSC00710

While you let the potatoes cook, sauté some onions and mushrooms.  Season with salt and pepper.  I added a little cayenne for a kick.

DSC00714

When the onions and mushroom cooked down (I like to cook them down a lot and really get that caramelization) add cheese.  I used a low fat Swiss here (trying to keep it healthy).  Cheddar would work really well too.

DSC00711 DSC00715

By now, your potatoes should be done.  You can tell if the potatoes fall apart when poked with a fork (fork tender).  Drain the water from the potatoes (don’t rinse with cold water).  You can now do your favorite mashed potatoes ritual.  I add garlic, 1% skim milk (again the health thing; you can use cream), a little bit of margarine (feel free to use butter), salt and pepper.  Throw in the dill and mash away.

DSC00716 DSC00718When Mashed, add the mushroom and onions mixture and continue to mix. If your potatoes are not smooth, you can add a little more liquid (cream, or milk).  And here is your dill mushroom mashed potatoes! Yum, right?!

DSC00721

So I started the plate by throwing down a bed of the mashed potatoes.

When the lamb is done, remove from the oven and tent it with some foil and let rest for at least 5-10 minutes.  You don’t want the juices running onto your cutting board.  Trust me, I’ve been impatient and had the juices run all over the plate and cutting board, didn’t make for a very good photo.   It also dries out the meat as the juices are on your plate and not in the meat.  After resting, cut lamb into individual pieces by cutting inbetween the bones.

DSC00724Place lamb on top of the mashed potatoes and serve with side of vegetable of your choice.  I chose to go with broccoli (clearly).

DSC00727 DSC00723

DSC00726

And here’s me playing with the camera.  Trying to show of this beauty the best way I could.  Enjoy!

By the way, feel free to pair your lamb with any sides you want.  For that matter, feel free to pair the mashed potatoes with anything you want.  I got to say though, these are the best mashed potatoes I have ever made ;).  I might do a separate post just on the mashed potatoes.

Ingredients: Lamb

1 rack of lamb

Dijon mustard

Balsamic vinegar

Garlic

Rosemary – fresh or dried – (fresh tastes better in my opinion)

Panko bread crumbs – or regular bread crumbs if Panko is not avaliable

Salt and pepper

Mashed Potatoes

4-6 yukon gold potatoes – depending on size of potatoes

Bunch of dill

1/2 medium onion, diced

Button mushrooms

Butter/margarine

Cream/milk

Minced garlic

Low fat Swiss cheese – or any cheese of your liking

Salt and Pepper

Directions: Lamb

1. Wash meat and pat dry with paper towel.  Cut off excess fat if so desired

2. Marinate lamb with dijon, garlic, balsamic, rosemary, salt and pepper.  Let sit for 30 minutes to 1 hour.

3. Pre-heat oven to 400oF

4. Coat outside  of lamb with Panko bread crumbs

5. Place lamb in oven and let cook for 30-40 minutes depending on size of the rack.  This is for medium-rare (best way to eat lamb in my opinion)

Mashed potatoes

1. Peel potatoes (or don’t, I sometimes make mashed potatoes with the skin on) and cut potatoes into smaller chunks.  Place them in salted boiling water

2. Chop onions, mushrooms and dill.

3. Sauté onions and mushrooms.  Season with salt and pepper

4. When cooked down, add cheese and melt into onions and mushrooms mixture.

5. Potatoes should be done by now.  Strain water.  Add butter/margarine, garlic, cream/milk while mashing with a potato masher.  Season with salt and pepper

6. When the potatoes are mashed, add in dill and onions/mushrooms mixture.  Mix well

5 responses to “Rack of Lamb with Dill-Mushroom Mashed Potatoes

  1. This lamb looks delicious. I always look for different lamb recipes and this looks like a winner. It would go perfect with a recipe I just saw for asparagus. Yummy!

    • So glad you like it! I was thinking maybe I should put mushrooms in the mash but don’t really recall ever hearing people doing that, maybe something is wrong with it? But I love mushrooms and potatoes and thought there’s no way they can be bad together, and I was right! such a great combination =)

Leave a Reply

