Turkey Burgers

Turkey burgers are awesome.  Its funny when I tell people I’m making turkey burgers I sometimes get a cringe from some people and they say “ugh! turkey burgers? isn’t that going to be dry as f***?”  I understand where they’re coming from(minus the profanity) as turkey is quite lean. However, if you do this a few times and get the timing right, you won’t overcook your turkey burgers and they will be juicy, tasty and healthy too.  Lets get down to business.  I’ve actually made this a few times, I decided to combine the 2 different sets of pictures I have.  The more recent time I made it, I didn’t use parsley, but everything else is the same.
20130203_174041

Start off with 1lb of lean ground turkey.  Add half a medium onion, finely chopped, 1/2 medium sized red bell pepper, finely chopped, a bunch of parsley, about 1/4 cup, 1 egg, freshly grated black pepper (not too much because I like to season with salt and pepper right before they hit the heat) and Panko bread crumbs (or regular bread crumbs if Panko is not available.  With gloves just mix all the ingredients together.  Make sure you don’t over work the meat or it will become tough.

20130203_174823

When mixed, just form them into burger patties.  Usually with 1 lb of meat, I get around 6-7 burgers.  If you like you can make them thicker and you might have less, but each one would be bigger.  I happen to like this size, its great for company if you’re going to invite a few people.  I also find it a lot easier/faster to cook, and a lot easier to keep track of how long they have been cooking for.

20130203_181215

Fire up a pan or your grill.  I would do these on the grill someday but Canadian winters prevented me from doing so.  I like to season burgers with salt and pepper just before they hit the heat.  Season one side, place that side down on the heat and while the other side is facing up, season that side as well.  On medium-high heat cook these for 6-10 minutes on each side depending on size and thickness.  For this size, I cooked them for about 6 1/2 minutes – 7 on each side.  You might have to cook them for longer if they’re thicker.

20130203_181644

They should have a nice char to them, but not burnt.  If you are getting a little too much char/smoke, turn the heat down.

You can serve them with any condiments you like.  I always tend to add an egg on top of my burgers.  Eggs and burgers are great friends.  The first time I made these was on super bowl weekend.  I don’t watch much football but I wanted to get the mood for game-time food.  I was also in the mood to be healthy so I went with a turkey burger.

20130203_18283320130204_115208 20130204_115317

I served them on a bun, with cheesy mushrooms, which you might have seen from my cheesey mushrooms breakfast.  If you haven’t, go check it out.  I pretty much saute mushrooms and add cheddar cheese.  I topped the burgers with the mushrooms and a low fat Swiss cheese slice.  I also added some spinach on top and a side of homemade fries (baked, not fried).  Sorry if some of these pictures are blurry, they were taken from my phone, I didn’t have the camera that day.

DSC00802

The more recent time I’ve made this I went with a little different approach.  I decided to go bun-less.  The patties were pretty much the same, but minus the parley, I liked it better with the parsley, I just didn’t have parsley that day.  I also decided to go with a creamy brie cheese instead of Swiss.  Also no cheesy mushrooms this time, it would have been too difficult to keep on top without buns.

DSC00805 DSC00806

These look better because I had the camera.  I topped the burgers with brie, tomatoes, spinach, avocado and of course the beautiful egg!

Wait for it………….

……………………..

……………………..

DSC00807 DSC00808

BOOM! look at that oooze! haha, I’m sure you all saw this as the feature photo already.   I love runny eggs though!.  Major leakage. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground turkey

1 egg

Panko bread crumbs (or regular)

1/2 medium onion, finely chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped

Parsley, finely chopped – about 1/4 cup

Salt and pepper

Directions:

1. combine ground turkey, egg, bread crumbs, onions, red bell pepper and parsley in a large mixing bowl.

2. With gloves, mix ingredients together without over-working meat.

3. Form into burger patties – makes about 5-7 depending on size

4. Cook on medium-high heat for 6-10 minutes depending on size of burgers

5. Serve with any condiments of your choice.  Use buns or not, both works great

8 responses to “Turkey Burgers

    • thanks! Haha I get the egg thing. It was only recently I started liking runny egg yolks. I remember when I was younger, everyone in the family loved the runny yolks and mine had to be cooked for longer because I just couldn’t stand them.

  1. Great photography guys, makes your food art even more delectable. I love sunny side up eggs as well. Putting that egg over the burger gave an extra punch to the protein in this recipe. Good job!!

    I have my own website now at http://www.savorthefood.com. Your invited to check it out. Our blog is Fun with Food. 🙂

    Chef Randall

    • Hey Randall, thanks a lot. I was wondering where you went! I clicked on one of your posts and it said the blog no longer exists, I was going to email you if you didn’t come back. Great to hear you have your own site now, I will definitely be checking it out!

Leave a Reply

