Homemade Burgers

Hello everybody, it seems like forever since I last posted something.  Sorry, I haven’t had the chance to add anything new.  I thank you all for being patient.  I have something I think you will all enjoy here.  If you’re like me, you appreciate a good burger.  Also, if you’re like me, you probably have been buying frozen burger patties for barbecues and other events.  They’re quick and easy but to be honest, they aren’t the freshest/best tasting things out there, right? especially after being frozen for a while.  Well I’m going to show you how to make simple, easy and delicious burgers to impress your friends.

20130220_171425

Start out with about 1 lb of lean ground beef in a large mixing bowl.  You can go for a higher fat content if you so desire, I like to keep it lean.  Chop about 1/2 of a medium onion.  Crack one egg, and add some Panko bread crumbs just to help bind everything together.  If you don’t have Panko, regular breadcrumbs will work.  I also added a little paprika too, that’s optional though.

20130220_172052

With gloves or your bare hands, just mix everything together.  You don’t want to over work the meat, just enough to combine all the ingredients. With 1 lb of ground beef, I usually can make 6-8 burgers.  The amount changes depending on the size of your burgers.  I keep them relatively thin.  If you noticed, I haven’t seasoned these yet; I find it is much easier to season them right before they hit the heat.  Just throw on some salt and pepper on one side (this is the side that will touch the heat first)

20130220_183307 20130220_183436Cook them on a pan or a grill on medium-high heat.  Now that you have the seasoned side down, you have the unseasoned side facing up, this is a good time to season them on this side.  I cook them for about 3-4 minutes on each side.  If you made thicker burgers You might have to cook them for a little longer; you don’t want to over cook them, you want them to be nice and juicy.

20130220_183542

I melted some low fat Swiss cheese on some of them, and a creamy brie on others.  Feel free to use any cheese you like.

20130220_184258

I made these Panko crusted portebello mushrooms stuffed with cheddar cheese and baked.  These are so simple (I will be doing some posts on stuffed portebello mushrooms in the future so stay posted).  and works great in burgers.  Here in Toronto, we have a burger joint called Burger’s Priest and they have a version of stuffed portebello mushrooms, I was inspired by them and decided to have my version of cheesy mushrooms.  (I will have a review on Burger’s Priest coming soon).

20130220_184351

On the left, you can see I assembled my beautiful burger.  Bottom bun, burger patty (with brie on top) the cheddar stuffed portebello mushroom and a sunny side egg on top.  If you know me, you know I always put eggs on my burgers :D.  You can now add any of your favorite toppings and condiments.  (tomato, lettuce, ketchup, mustard, onions, relish,  jalapenos etc etc.)

20130220_184450

If that wasn’t enough, I decided to add my the Chili I had made over the burgers as well. You can find the Chili recipe here

20130220_185140

Here is a cross section of the burger with swiss cheese, chili and tomato.

20130220_184705

Here is the burger with the egg and cheddar stuffed mushroom.  Love the runny yolk!

20130220_184732

And to top it all off I added Chili on top of the burger with the mushroom and the egg! Enjoy!

I highly recommend you try these with an egg.  If you have time and want to experiment, I also recommend the panko crusted mushroom and chili.  If you don’t have chili on hand, its not necessary to make it purposely for burgers but if you happen to have some, its a great bonus.  As for the cheese stuffed mushrooms, they’re so easy to make you should definitely try them.  I will have stuffed portebello mushroom posts up very soon.

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground beef

1/2 medium onion, diced

Panko bread crumbs (or regular bread crumbs)

Paprika (optional)

Cheddar cheese stuffed portebello mushroom (optional)

Chili (optional)

1 egg

Cheese (your favorite cheese to put on burgers)

Salt and Pepper

Burger condiments/toppings of your choice (buns, lettuce, tomatoes, mustard, ketchup etc.)

Directions:

1. In a large mixing bowl, add in ground beef, diced onions, bread crumbs, egg and paprika

2. With gloves or just your bare hands (washed) mix everything together without overworking the meat.  Just mix enough so everything is incorporated.

3. Form into burger patties.  With 1 lb of ground meat, depending on size and thickness of burgers, you should be able to make 5-8 patties

4. Season patties with salt and pepper and place that side down on a pan or grill over medium-high heat.  When unseasoned side is facing up, take the time to season this side as well.

5.  Cook burgers for 3-4 minutes on each side depending on the size of the burgers (obviously thicker patties need a little more time)

6.  Melt cheese over patties when they’re about to be finished

7. Serve with toppings/condiments of your liking

One response to “Homemade Burgers

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms | Case of the Munchies·

Leave a Reply

