Roasted Beet & Goat Cheese Salad

I have been eating beets for a lot of my life.  I remember when I was younger, my grandmother would make a beets soup.  The natural sweetness of the beets is just so amazing, you don’t really have to season it much.  I hear people who are just starting to get into beets and they absolutely love it.

I had something similar at Origin North, a restaurant in Toronto. For those of you from the area, check them out.  The beets salad comes out and I’m drooling already.  I had a few people with me who weren’t beet fans which pretty much meant more beets for me!  Long story short, the restaurant inspired me to do my own version of this beets salad and really showed me how well beets and goat cheese works together.  I hope you stick around for this beautiful salad.

This salad works great as a side – very good for sharing.  I have eaten it for lunch/snack the next day as well.  You would normally be eating as a side to something else.

DSC03082 DSC03084

I started by pickling some red onions.  They had pickled onions at the restaurant which I really enjoyed on the salad so I thought I would make my own.  You could skip this step if you want but I recommend it.  I just picked my onions in some lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, sugar, and red pepper flakes (by all means use your own pickling recipe, don’t have to follow me to a tee here.)

The onions should stay in the pickling liquid for at least 1 hour before use.

DSC03091

Peel the beets with a vegetable peeler.  Be careful though, beets stain everything so try not to touch your clothes after or accidentally drop the beets on yourself.  The beet would be place on the plate whole so it is 1 beet per salad – I made 2 just because I knew I could probably eat one myself.  So decide before you make this.  Usually I have 2-3 people sharing one (with other food – this would be a side dish).

DSC03096

Wrap the beets in aluminum foil and roast in the center of the oven at 375oF for about 1 hour.

When the beets are about to be done, you can start assembling your salad.  I chose to use baby spinach leaves, shavings of carrots, candied walnuts, goat cheese and garlic infused greek yogurt (could just use plain Greek yogurt).

If there are things you need to make anything so lets say candying walnuts or making a flavored Greek yogurt, you can do it while the beets are in the oven.  Candied walnuts are optional, I just added it because they had it at the restaurant and I enjoyed them.  I simply added water to some sugar, covered the walnuts in them and baked in the oven for about 5 minutes.

As for the garlic Greek yogurt.  I just mixed a little bit of mayonnaise to plain Green yogurt, added garlic, salt and pepper.  Plain Greek yogurt works just as well.

DSC03107

DSC03109

Place the beets in the center of the salad.  The goat cheese can be broken off with your hands and thrown in.  The Greek Yogurt can be dolloped on – get creative with it.  Top the salad with the pickled onions, carrot shreds (just use a potato peeler), and candied walnuts.  If you have any questions about the pickled onions or Greek yogurt, feel free to ask.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 – 2 Medium sized beets

Spinach

Carrots – shaved with vegetable peeler (could just cut them into strips)

Pickled red onions (does not have to be pickled but recommended)

Candied walnuts (does not have to be candied but recommended)

Goat Cheese

Garlic infused Greek Yougurt (Plain Greet yogurt works as well)

Directions:

1. Peel beets with vegetable peeler

2. Wrap beets in aluminum foil and roast in a 375oF for 60 minutes

3. While waiting for beets – prepare the salad – if you chose to do it, candy walnuts and make Greek yogurt mixture

4. Put a layer of spinach in the center of the plate.  Place beet in the center and add carrots, picked onion, walnuts.  Dollop some Greek yougurt on top and break apart some goat cheese and sprinkle over salad.

3 responses to “Roasted Beet & Goat Cheese Salad

  1. I still like your blog, Casey! The photos are wonderful and the food looks delicious! I drop in from time to time, but this time to check out your restaurant reviews. I’ll be in Toronto on November 9 at the Novatel hotel on Esplanade selling Vinny’s book. It’s a conference of medical professionals from Sick Kids – looking for kids’ fiction with health links. Anyway, if you ever wanted to meet Vinny, drop around! Send your friends! In any event, I’ll check out one or two of your restaurant suggestions 🙂

    • I unfortunately did not make a sherry dressing like the restaurant. I have tried it with a really quick honey mustard dressing (honey, mustard, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper) and it works amazing!

Leave a Reply

